The Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) (formerly Organization of the Islamic Conference) is the second largest inter-governmental organization after the United Nations which has membership of 57 states spread over four continents.

The Organization is the collective voice of the Muslim world and ensuring to safeguard and protect the interests of the Muslim world in the spirit of promoting international peace and harmony among various people of the world. The Organization was established upon a decision of the historical summit which took place in Rabat, Kingdom of Morocco on 12th Rajab 1389 Hijra (25 September 1969) as a result of criminal arson of Al-Aqsa Mosque in occupied Jerusalem.


Malaysia was the Chairman of the OIC from 17 October 2003 to 13 March 2008 [Source]

The other was a two-day conference on Nov 2-3, 2002, where several OIC members such as Bahrain, Pakistan, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Indonesia, Malaysia and Kuwait together with the Islamic Development Bank (IDB) launched the Islamic Financial Service Board (IFSB).


  • Enhance and consolidate the bonds of fraternity and solidarity among the Member States;
  • Safeguard and protect the common interests and support the legitimate causes of the Member States and coordinate and unify the efforts of the Member States in view of the challenges faced by the Islamic world in particular and the international community in general;
  • Respect the right of self-determination and non-interference in the domestic affairs and to respect sovereignty, independence and territorial integrity of each Member State;
  • Ensure active participation of the Member States in the global political, economic and social decision-making processes to secure their common interests;
  • Reaffirm its support for the rights of peoples as stipulated in the UN Charter and international law;
  • Strengthen intra-Islamic economic and trade cooperation; in order to achieve economic integration leading to the establishment of an Islamic Common Market;
  • Exert efforts to achieve sustainable and comprehensive human development and economic well-being in Member States;
  • Protect and defend the true image of Islam, to combat defamation of Islam and encourage dialogue among civilizations and religions;
  • Enhance and develop science and technology and encourage research and cooperation among Member States in these fields;
  • In order to realize these objectives, Member States shall act, inter alia, in accordance with the following principles:
    1. All Member States commit themselves to the purposes and principles of the United Nations Charter;
    2. Member States are sovereign, independent and equal in rights and obligations;
    3. All Member States shall settle their disputes through peaceful means and refrain from use or threat of use of force in their relations;
    4. All Member States undertake to respect national sovereignty, independence and territorial integrity of other Member States and shall refrain from interfering in the internal affairs of others;
    5. Member States shall uphold and promote, at the national and international levels, good governance, democracy, human rights and fundamental freedoms, and the rule of law.



  • The summit is composed of Kings and Heads of State and Government of Member States, is the supreme authority of the Organization.
  • It convenes once every three years to deliberate, take policy decisions and provide guidance on all issues pertaining to the realization of the objectives and consider other issues of concern to the Member States and the Ummah.


  • Adopting decisions and resolutions on matters of common interest in the implementation of the objectives and the general policy of the Organization
  • Reviewing progress of the implementation of the decisions and resolutions adopted at the previous Summits and Councils of Foreign Ministers


  • It is the executive organ of the Organization, entrusted with the implementation of the decisions of the two preceding bodies.

OIC Secretaries General


  1. H.R.H. Tunku Abdul Rahman (Malaysia) 1971-1973
  2. H.E. Hassan Al-Touhami (Egypt) 1974-1975
  3. H.E. Dr. Amadou Karim Gaye (Senegal) 1975-1979
  4. H.E. Mr. Habib Chatty (Tunisia) 1979-1984
  5. H.E. Syed Sharifuddin Pirzada (Pakistan) 1985-1988
  6. H.E. Dr. Hamid Algabid (Niger) 1989-1996
  7. H.E. Dr. Azeddine Laraki (Morocco) 1997-2000
  8. H.E. Dr. Abdelouahed BELKEZIZ (Morocco) 2001-2004
  9. H.E.Prof. Dr. EKMELEDDIN IHSANOGLU (Turkey) 2005-2013
  10. H.E. Mr. Iyad Ameen Madani (Saudi Arabia) 2014-2016
  11. H.E. Dr. Yousef bin Ahmad Al-Othaimeen (Saudi Arabia) 2016-present

For more information on OIC please click on the following links:

Have Questions? Contact Us For Details