• 1 VISION



The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was established on August 8, 1967 through the Bangkok Declaration.

This non-political organisation was established by the governments of Malaysia, Indonesia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand aimed at enhancing the economic growth and maintained stability and security in Southeast Asia. Currently, ASEAN comprised all the 10 Southeast Asia countries including Brunei, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar and Cambodia.

The ASEAN member countries cooperate in terms of political and security, economic and sociocultural and succeeded in maintaining regional peace and stability as well as becoming the most rapidly developed and competitive region in the world. ASEAN is recognized internationally as a body that can contribute towards global peace and prosperity.

This is evident when ASEAN Dialogue Partners announced their interest to appoint an Ambassador or Special Representative to establish closer relations with ASEAN. Malaysia as a founding member of ASEAN is very committed and constantly strives to achieve the objectives of ASEAN establishment and ASEAN Community 2025.


  • The ASEAN leaders created the position of ASEAN Secretary-General and the Secretariat of ASEAN.
  • ASEAN Secretariat consists of four sections based on three pillars of the ASEAN community that are (APSC),  (AEC),  (ASCC) and (AER).
  • The main secretariat is located in Jakarta, It was established during the Bali Summit in 1976.
  • The staffs are appointed from all ASEAN member countries.
  • ASEAN Secretariat

  • Regional Committee

  • The Senior Officer

  • The Minister

  • Heads of Government (ASEAN leaders)

The highest decision makers in the ASEAN are the Heads of Government, better known as the ASEAN leaders.

Have Questions? Contact Us For Details